top of page

O r c h e s t r a

Hong has been working with the Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra of Belgrade, the Orchestra of Slovenian National Theatre Opera and Ballet, the Jenaer Philharmonie, the Orchestra of Opera North, the Orchestra of Colours, the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, the Suwon Philharmonic Orchestra, the Masan Philharmonic Orchestra, the Seinäjoki City Chamber Orchestra, the City of London Sinfonia, the Soloists of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, and the Soloists of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


Prismatic - Piano Concerto
2008, 15 mins - picc, fl, ob, cl, bcl, bn, hn, trp, trb, 2perc, hp, strings & piano

Prismatic, commissioned piece by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra for the Unsuk Chin's 'Ars Nova' Series, was composed between June 2007 and August 2008 in Thessaloniki, Greece. 


It lasts about 15 minutes and is scored for solo piano and 21 performers. It was first performed by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and pianist Sooyeon Lim under the direction of Roland Kluttig in Sejong Chamber Hall, Seoul on 25 October 2008.


Kiklos - Symphony Orchestra
2002, 15 mins - 3333, 4331, 3perc, timpani, pf/cel, strings

Kiklos was awarded to the First Prize at the International Competition for Original Ballet Music during ISCM World Music Days-Slovenia 2003.


Kiklos was composed between January and December 2002 in York, England. It was first performed as a ballet in October 2003 by the Slovenian National Theatre Opera & Ballet company under the direction of Conductor Dieter Rossberg and Choreographer, Stasa Zurovac at National Theatre 'Opera and Ballet' in Ljubljana, Slovenia. It lasts for 15 minutes.


Operatic Breaches - Symphony Orchestra

2012, 15 mins - 2222, 4231, 1perc, timpani, strings

Operatic Breaches was awarded to the First Prize at the IV Concurso Internacional Magistralia in 2012.


It was completed in June 2012 in Thessaloniki, Greece. It lasts for 13 minutes and is scored for symphony orchestra.


The inspiration for this piece is based on the poem Nocturne Vulgaire by Arthur Rimbaud. The title of the piece, Operatic Breaches, is from the very first line of the poem. “A breath opens operatic breaches in the walls” (“Un souffle ouvre des brèches opéradiques dans les cloisons”).


Operatic Breaches was first performed on 30 August 2013 by the Oviedo Filharmonia under the direction of César Alvarez at the Auditorio Principe Felipe in Oviedo, Spain.

Operatic Breaches
bottom of page