S e l e c t e d   W o r k s

Sungji Has been working with the Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra of Belgrade, the Orchestra of Slovenian National Theatre Opera and Ballet, the Jenaer Philharmonie, the Orchestra of Opera North, the Orchestra of Colours, the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, the Suwon Philharmonic Orchestra, the Masan Philharmonic Orchestra, the Seinäjoki City Chamber Orchestra, the City of London Sinfonia, the Soloists of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Soloists of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Volti Chamber Choir, Seattle Pro Musica, Renaissance Voices, Con Spirito, the New York Virtuoso Singers, Lorelei Ensemble, the BBC Singers, the Choir of the Temple Church in London, Trio Mediaeval, Arditti String Quartet, Ensemble Concorde, Nieuw Ensemble of Amsterdam, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Ensemble Linea, Ensemble Accroche Note, Onix Ensemble, Ensemble Offspring, Ensemble TIMF, Extraordinary Stroma, Ensemble Mise-en, and TrioPolis.


Rev. 2016 (2008), 4 mins- vn


The title suggests gestures of sudden burst of bright light. Dashing and flashing gestures are heard continuously on high registers.

Flash for violin solo was completed in September 2008 in Thessaloniki, Greece. It was commissioned by Kumho Asiana Cultural Foundation to be premiered by Hae-Sun Kang at the Kumho Art Hall in Seoul on 6 November 2008.

It was published by Da Vinci Edition, Milan/Italy (CODE: DV 10207).


2015, 6 mins - cl, pf, vn, vc

Evlogimenos for clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano was written in 2015 for TrioPolis. The inspiration for this piece is based on the painting L'entrata di Cristo in Gerusalemme of Pietro Lorenzetti, an Italian painter (active between c.1306 and 1345).


The work was first performed by TrioPolis on 8 February 2016 at the Recital Hall, UNT in Denton.



2018, 8 mins - fl, cl, trb, perc, pf, vn, vc

Elevatus is scored for flute, clarinet, trombone, piano, vibraphone, violin, and violoncello. It received its first performance by Ensemble Mise-en under the direction of Moon Young Ha on 17 May 2018 at The Cell in New York (NY).

The inspiration for this piece is based on the fresco L'Ascensione (c.1305, The Scrovegni Chapel in Padua, Italy) by Florentine artist Giotto di Bondone.

Kiklos - Symphony Orchestra

2002, 15 mins - 3333, 4331, 3perc, timpani, pf/cel, strings

Kiklos was awarded to the International Competition for Original Ballet Music during ISCM World Music Days-Slovenia 2003.

Kiklos was composed between January and December 2002 in York, England. It was first performed as a ballet in October 2003 by the Slovenian National Theatre Opera & Ballet company under the direction of Conductor Dieter Rossberg and Choreographer, Stasa Zurovac at National Theatre 'Opera and Ballet' in Ljubljana, Slovenia. It lasts for 15 minutes.


© 2020 by Sungji Hong